Button for menue
CASUL®

A high-tech white pigment – and a truly remarkable product

  • CASUL® is a synthetic white mineral that is produced by REMONDIS using a patented process, which the company developed itself. A wide variety of industries use CASUL® in their products as it considerably reduces their need for organic additives. What’s more, this white pigment is absolutely safe and enables many products to be made without harmful biocides, preservatives or plasticisers. When it comes to white pigments, CASUL® really is an all-round talent – something that is also reflected in its long list of advantages. These not only apply to its many different uses but also to the fact that we can supply the mineral as and when it is needed thanks to REMONDIS’ large storage and production capacities.

  • CASUL® can be delivered in IBCs and tankers (suspension) or in big bags and sacks (powder) – it all depends on our customers’ needs.

  • The white pigment CASUL®: areas of use

      CASUL® is used as a concentrated dispersion (slurry) in paper production – in particular for refining the surface of high quality glossy paper destined for art prints and food packaging.
      more

      CASUL® is in high demand within the paint industry – as a white pigment for high-coverage emulsion wall paints and other emulsion paints.
      more

      CASUL® has been used in building materials and construction systems for many years now – and offers a number of significant environmental benefits.
      more

      CASUL® helps protect rooms and buildings against fire when added to building materials and paints – thanks to its high crystal water content.
      more

  • Guaranteed quality – across all stages

    • As it is our goal to always achieve the best results, we only use quality assured raw materials to produce CASUL®. However, not only the materials are subject to stringent quality controls – our production processes are as well. Reference samples of each and every batch of CASUL® are taken at the end of a production cycle so that they can be analysed and stored. Thanks to our years of experience of producing white pigments and our extensive technological know-how, we are able to modify the mineral to meet our customers’ exact requirements – cost effectively and without delay. Binding agents can be added to the mineral, for example, or specific particle sizes can be produced. We would be very happy to welcome you to our company so that we can tell you more about our production technology and modern quality management system.

      Do you need a bespoke formula or help using the product? We have just the right service for you!

    The synthetic white mineral CASUL® is made with pure raw materials – primarily with sodium aluminate. REMONDIS has also been producing this substance under its brand name ALUMIN® for many years now

  • Do you have a question? Would you like to visit us?

    Then why not drop us a line to learn more about our product or to arrange a time to visit our facility?!
    Contact us

  • A quick look back – how the CASUL® story began

    • The patented raw material that is now being sold all around the world was, in fact, discovered purely by accident. In 1995, REMONDIS was looking into a new process for treating wastewater. One of the residual products of this process was an extremely white filter cake. The person responsible for the project at REMONDIS immediately recognised the great potential of this by-product. He knew that a unique product could be created from the filter cake if its intensive whiteness could be used in industrial production processes – for example in paints. He even had a name for the white pigment: ‘CASUL’ – created from the names of the reactants used to treat the wastewater, namely calcium, aluminium and sulphate.

      Find out more about REMONDIS – one of the world’s leading recycling, services and water companies remondis.com

    • First field trials

        • REMONDIS began working together with a paint manufacturer in the same year (1995) to carry out tests to try and produce paints with CASUL®. The results were impressive – as could be seen at an in-house exhibition held by REMONDIS in 1996. As hoped, the paint not only proved to be brilliant white but also to have great coverage. CASUL’s success story had almost been completed – but not quite. One more hurdle had to be overcome: the quality of the filter cake that was being used as a raw material was not consistent enough which meant it was not a suitable material for producing the white pigment on an industrial scale. REMONDIS decided instead to develop a formula for CASUL® that was based on primary raw materials.

          A successful pilot test: the wall paints made with CASUL® proved to be a success right from the start thanks to their brilliant white colour and their high coverage

      From the test facility to a successful patent

        • REMONDIS decided to build a pilot plant soon after the tests had been successfully completed. This was already up and running and producing the white pigment CASUL® by April 1998. A patent application was then submitted for this novel production process on 10.11.1998. It didn’t take long for the first customers to turn up. One of them, a well-known company, launched its first cleaning product containing CASUL® in 2000. Convinced of the white mineral’s marketability, REMONDIS decided to build a production plant in February 2005 which was commissioned just five months later. CASUL® has been produced at this facility since then – on an industrial scale and for a wide variety of customers and industries across the whole of Europe.

          The synthetic material’s needle-like primary structure can easily be adapted to suit its different areas of use. No matter whether it’s produced as a powder or a suspension, in different particle sizes, mixed in with other substances or as a compound: CASUL® takes the development of many products and applications to the next level

  • Goodbye ettringite, goodbye titanium dioxide

    Thanks to its many positive properties, CASUL® is an excellent substitute for other whiteners and/or white minerals. These, for example, include the naturally occurring ettringite (although this substance has, for the most part, already disappeared from industrial production processes as it is expensive and difficult to handle) and, above all, titanium dioxide. Following the recent publication of studies declaring titanium dioxide to be a health hazard, companies have been looking for a suitable alternative for all of its areas of use. CASUL® is the perfect solution here, especially as it has been proven that it is an absolutely safe product. Find out more at www.casul-titandioxid.de/en/casul/

    The white pigment CASUL®: a few facts & figures
    Oxidic empirical formulaxCaO*Al203*yCaSO4*zCaCO3*nH20
    Crystal structure/habithexagonal, needle-like
    Adjustable particle size5- <1000 ìm
    Density of the original substanceca. 1.8 g/cm³
    Slurry densityca. 1.3 g/cm³
    Whiteness (R457)95–98
    Powder densityvariable
CASUL® // A product of the REMONDIS Group
ImprintPrivacy & Cookies


    Drop us a line


    Learn more about CASUL®

    REMONDIS Production
    Library
    Careers


    Contact details

    REMONDIS Production GmbH
    Brunnenstr. 138
    44536 Lünen
    Germany
    T +49 2306 106-223
    Email

© 2018 REMONDIS SE & Co. KG

Button für Menü
CASUL®

Ein Hightech-Weißpigment, das es in sich hat

  • CASUL® ist ein synthetisches Weißpigment, das von REMONDIS in einem selbst entwickelten, patentierten Verfahren hergestellt wird. Durch den Einsatz von CASUL® lässt sich in zahlreichen Branchen der Anteil organischer Additive deutlich reduzieren. Darüber hinaus ist das Weißpigment ökologisch unbedenklich und ermöglicht in vielen Bereichen eine Produktion ohne schädliche Biozide, Konservierungsmittel oder Weichmacher. All dies macht CASUL® zu einem Tausendsassa unter den Weißpigmenten mit zahlreichen Produkt- und Wirtschaftlichkeitsvorteilen. Sie betreffen nicht nur die vielfältigen Anwendungsbereiche, sondern unter anderem auch die hohe Lieferstabilität, die wir aufgrund der großen REMONDIS-Kapazitäten garantieren können.

  • CASUL® kann je nach Bedarf in IBC oder Tankkraftwagen für die Suspension oder in Big Bags oder Säcke fürs Pulver geliefert werden.

  • Einsatzbereiche des Weißpigments CASUL®

      Als konzentrierte Dispersion (Slurry) kommt CASUL® insbesondere für die Oberflächenveredelung von hochglänzenden Spezialfeinpapieren, für Kunstdrucke und Lebensmittelverpackungen zum Einsatz.
      mehr

      In der Farbindustrie wird CASUL® als Weißmineral in hochdeckenden und schadstofffreien Dispersionswandfarben geschätzt.
      mehr

      CASUL® findet schon seit Jahren Verwendung im Bereich Baustoffe und Bausysteme und leistet hier einen wichtigen Beitrag in Sachen Ökologie.
      mehr

      Baustoffen und Farben beigemischt erhöht CASUL® den Brandschutz in Räumen und Gebäuden. Grund hierfür ist der hohe Kristallwasseranteil.
      mehr

  • Garantierte Qualität – über alle Prozessschritte hinweg

    • Um ein optimales Produktergebnis zu erreichen, setzen wir ausschließlich qualitätsgeprüfte Rohstoffe ein. Aber nicht nur das verwendete Material, sondern auch unsere Herstellungsprozesse unterliegen strengsten Qualitätskontrollen. Nach Ablauf eines Produktionszyklus werden von jeder produzierten CASUL®-Charge Rückstellmuster eingelagert und analysiert. Durch unsere langjährige Erfahrung in der Herstellung von Weißpigmenten und unser hohes technisches Know-how sind wir in der Lage, auf kundenspezifische Wünsche zur Modifikation der Minerale umgehend und wirtschaftlich einzugehen. So können zum Beispiel Bindemittel hinzugefügt oder je nach Bedarf Korngrößen definiert werden. Gerne erläutern wir Ihnen vor Ort unsere Produktionstechnologie und unser modernes Qualitätsmanagement.

      Individuelle Rezeptur, Unterstützung bei der Produkteinführung? Wir haben den passenden Service

    Das synthetische Weißpigment CASUL® wird aus reinen Rohstoffen erzeugt – primär aus Natriumaluminat. Dieses stellt REMONDIS bereits seit Jahren unter dem Markennamen ALUMIN® her

  • Kontaktieren oder besuchen Sie uns!

    Jetzt persönlich beraten lassen oder direkt einen Besichtigungstermin unserer Produktion vereinbaren.
    Kontakt

  • Weißte Bescheid – die Entstehungsgeschichte von CASUL®

    • Was heute als patentierter Rohstoff um die Welt geht, hat mit einer zufälligen Entdeckung angefangen. 1995 entwickelte REMONDIS ein neues Verfahren zur Abwasserbehandlung, bei dem als Reststoff ein besonders weiß strahlender Filterkuchen übrig blieb. Der damalige Projektverantwortliche bei REMONDIS erkannte sofort den möglichen Mehrwert des eigentlichen Nebenprodukts. Ihm war klar: Gelänge es, das intensive Weiß für die industrielle Herstellung zum Beispiel von Farben nutzbar zu machen, könnte der Filterkuchen als Basis für ein einzigartiges Produkt dienen. Auch einen Namen hatte der REMONDIS-Mitarbeiter schnell parat. In Anlehnung an die bei der Abwasserbehandlung eingesetzten Reaktanden Calcium, Aluminium und Sulfat taufte er das Weißpigment kurzerhand CASUL.

      Mehr zu REMONDIS – einem international führenden Dienstleister für Recycling, Service und Wasser remondis.de

    • Erster Praxistest

        • Noch im selben Jahr (1995) startete REMONDIS in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Farbenhersteller ein Testprojekt, bei dem Anstrichfarbe unter Beigabe von CASUL® produziert wurde. Das Ergebnis konnte sich dann auf der 1996 stattfindenden REMONDIS-Hausmesse im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes sehen lassen. Wie erhofft wies die an einer Wand vor Ort getestete Farbe hervorragende Weiß- und Deckkraft auf. Der Erfolgsgeschichte von CASUL® stand damit fast nichts mehr im Wege. Lediglich eine Hürde gab es noch zu überwinden: Der eigentlich als Rohstoff dienende Filterkuchen wies erhebliche Qualitätsschwankungen auf und war damit für die industrielle Herstellung des Weißpigments ungeeignet. Also entschloss man sich bei REMONDIS, die CASUL®-Rezeptur stattdessen auf Basis von Primärrohstoffen zu entwickeln.

          Erfolgreicher Pilotversuch: Bereits die erste mit CASUL® produzierte Wandfarbe überzeugte durch hohen Weißgrad und extremes Deckvermögen

      Von der Versuchsanlage zum patentierten Erfolg

        • Nach dem erfolgreichen Praxistest beschloss man bei REMONDIS zeitnah den Bau einer technischen Versuchsanlage. Sie ging bereits im April 1998 in Betrieb. Am 10.11.1998 wurde das neu entwickelte Verfahren zur Herstellung des Weißpigments CASUL® zum Patent angemeldet. Auch die ersten Kunden ließen nicht lange auf sich warten. Eines davon war ein renommiertes Unternehmen, das im Jahr 2000 ihr erstes unter Verwendung von CASUL® produziertes Putzprodukt auf den Markt brachte. Von der Marktreife des Weißminerals überzeugt, entschloss man sich bei REMONDIS im Februar 2005 zum Bau einer Produktionsanlage, die nur fünf Monate später eingeweiht wurde. Bis heute wird hier CASUL® im industriellen Maßstab für unterschiedlichste Abnehmer und Branchen aus ganz Europa hergestellt.

          Die nadelförmige Primärstruktur des synthetischen Minerals lässt sich mühelos an die unterschiedlichen Einsatzzwecke anpassen. Ob in Pulverform oder als Suspension, in verschiedenen Korngrößen, in Mischungen mit anderen Stoffen oder in kompoundierter Form: CASUL® gibt eine neue Stufe in der Entwicklung vieler Produkte und Anwendungen vor

  • Tschüss Ettringit und Titandioxid

    Aufgrund seiner vielfältig positiven Produkteigenschaften eignet sich CASUL® hervorragend als Substitut für andere Weißmacher bzw. Weißmineralien. Hier ist neben natürlichem Ettringit – das aus Kostengründen und generell problematischer Handhabung ohnehin weitestgehend aus industriellen Produktionsprozessen verschwunden ist – vor allem Titandioxid zu nennen. Titandioxid ist neuesten Erkenntnisse zufolge gesundheitsschädlich, weshalb in sämtlichen Anwendungsbereichen nach adäquatem Ersatz gesucht wird. CASUL® als nachweislich gesundheitlich unbedenkliches Weißpigment stellt hier die ideale Lösung dar. Mehr hierzu auf casul-titandioxid.de

    Daten und Fakten zum Weißpigment CASUL®
    Oxidische SummenformelxCaO*Al203*yCaSO4*zCaCO3*nH20
    Kristallstruktur/-habitushexagonal, nadelig
    Einzustellende Korngrößen5- <1000 ìm
    Dichte der Originalsubstanzca. 1,8 g/cm3
    Slurry-Dichteca. 1,3 g/cm3
    Weißgrad (R457)95–98
    Schüttgewicht als Pulvervariabel
CASUL® // Ein Produkt der REMONDIS-Gruppe
ImpressumDatenschutzhinweise


    Schreiben Sie uns


    Kontakt

    REMONDIS Production GmbH
    Brunnenstr. 138
    44536 Lünen
    Deutschland
    T +49 2306 106-223
    E-Mail

© 2018 REMONDIS SE & Co. KG